How to shift identity to understand ourselves?

How Slower Travel helps you to shed identities?

Travel has really picked up in last few decades.

For people who want to travel, it’s never been easier. I am one of them.

A fantasy in my heart is a living life right now.

But somehow all the dreams about traveling changed while I was traveling.

When I started I didn’t have much time, I was trying to see everything as quick as possible.

But once I started traveling I realized that in the rush of seeing things, I am not really feeling and taking in all that these places and what these experiences has to offer. I am just experiencing a tiny part of it.

Like everything in life, you can really witness when you slow down.

And nothing better than slowing down your travel.

To really see what the place has to offer, witness the culture, cuisine and most importantly the people.

I have had the privilege to spend time in different countries and cultures around the world.

As I began to reduce my pace of travel, I discovered a profound connection with both the new destinations and the previously unexplored facets of myself that emerged in these unfamiliar surroundings, of which I had previously been unaware.

When I started to slow down, then is where I met some of my closest friends, then is where I met my partner.

Even as a financial point of it, nothing is cheaper than slower travel. I have spent less money on slower travel than living in an apartment anywhere. Well this depends where you travel. I am talking with my experience.

Something important I have realized is that people are same everywhere, we are just different in our unique styles but in the meat of it we all are very same.

Especially when I look at indigenous cultures, they look so similar to me around the world. From the Andes of Peru to the islands of Hawaii to the Himalayas of India and Nepal.

Three places drastically far away, yet the ancient indigenous culture have so much similarities. People worshipped the nature around them.

Well am I biased? Yes

I love traveling so I am going to talk all positives. But there are definitely negatives.

Not having enough deep connections. You definitely meet really cool people but most people you meet are traveling as well. So its harder to form deep relationships and keep them especially around you.

It can be done but its’s just harder.

I believe that in order to completely change your thinking or perspective, you got to go out and live in another country and culture.

Most times we are living with identities, I am in Indian, I am American.

When you live somewhere else, other than where you were born the identities we had start to shed. Some people do start picking up new identities but the people who are aware, tend to completely clear themselves out of these identities.

To understand the truth, we need to first let go of all the beliefs we attach ourselves to.

I personally consider as myself a Global Citizen and these temporary boundaries are just construct of some people’s minds. I don’t want to limit myself based on the stories told to me.

My primary task as a human is to explore and understand myself then explore and understand the things around me and not translate it with my own concepts.

I have so much to write about this subject. Maybe I will focus on future letters. Till then sending you guys love.