What did the mountain say to me?

We make messengers the god, as we don’t understand the message.

First of all apologies on a late post. I have been on road trip from Texas to Oregon with Miranda. A long 3000 miles roadtrip which we are doing slowing exploring Arizona, Utah on the way.

Today I want to share a fascinating story from travels.

This past year I went to a 5 days hike to Machu Picchu in Peru. The path goes through a mountain pass called Salkantay pass which overlooks this beautiful mountain called Salkantay. It’s breathtaking.

Salkantay Mountain

The people of Andes refer this mountain as god. Most indigenous people have referred mountains as gods, as they are the source of survival in the area. Rain, water, rivers, food, climate and destruction. You would understand when you are in the presence of one.

So, I was very excited to go there. Unknowingly I had booked this hike around full moon, which was the best time to do. Miranda told me that I would be in front of Salkantay on full moon night and that was supposed to be a very auspicious day.

Along with full moon, it was also Beltane, Vesak and numerous others indigenous auspicious days.

The reason I was really excited was because it’s said whatever you wish at that time in front of the mountain will come true. So I had a few wishes in my mind to ask the mountain, some for me and some for the people I love.

I also asked some local people about what can I offer the mountain and what do the indigenous people offer? I was told a few things but something that stuck to me was offering 3 coca leaves. Coca plant is very significant in Andean culture. Yes it’s used for making cocaine but in Peru it is used for helping with Altitude sickness in the mountains. People have it in form of tea or just chew it. It really helps.

The three leaves signify the past, present and future. It also signifies acknowledging the ancestors, the present people and the ones that will come.

We hiked around 6 miles the first day and to my liking our campsite was right in front of the mountain, a beautiful view of Salkantay. When we reached our campsite the mountain was covered with clouds, nothing to be seen. But as the day turned into night, the clouds dispersed and there emerged the magnificent mountain.

As the night strengthened, the full moon light became stronger, my fellow hikers went to bed, I went to this spot where I was standing in front of this monument of a mountain, watching the full moon on my right hand side, taking all in.

I felt totally present in the moment. There are some moments in your life that you remember a lifetime, this was one of those. I brought out the three coca leaves out of my pocket to my palm for the offering. I remembered my ancestors, especially my Nanaji (grandfather). He passed away more than a year ago. He is a big reason of who I am today. He was my first person in this journey of travel.

I remembered all the people in my life who are present whom I love and then I remembered all the ones that are yet to come. I crushed the coca leaves offered it to the mountain.

Now I felt directly connected to the mountain, talking to the mountain. I had a few wishes of the material world I came with right, nothing mattered here. The desires, the problems did not seem to matter here, they didn’t even exist.

I would say that at that moment in the presence of the mountain, it felt timeless. When you are so far away from the civilization, the problems of the civilization doesn’t exist.

I was talking to the mountain so I did share my problems, my worries for the future as I want to take some challenging steps. Thinking I would get some sort of an answer or clue of what is right or wrong. When you speak to nature, you are always heard with presence. Nature doesn’t differentiate whether you give or take, nature always gives.

What I heard next changed my mindset on all my issues. The mountain made me aware of all the issues that nature has, melting glaciers, humans putting trash everywhere, people forgetting their connection with nature. So big that challenge all our existence yet nature gives without thinking.

What was it trying to tell me?

It was simple yet powerful.

Just be connected to nature. From the depth of your heart and soul. When you forget come back to her, immerse yourself back to her. Remember we are just a small piece in this universe but every piece is unique and important.

We make messengers the god, as we don’t understand the message. But the only god that exists is the nature because of which we are born and are living this wonderful life.

With that I also want to share that I am writing a book about traveling. I have been thinking about this for a while. But being at the mountain made it clear. It will take a while but I will share more details in future letters. Till then, I wish you have a wonderful weekend.

Much love,

Sunny