• Absolute Freedom
  • Posts
  • Achieve all of your new year resolutions with this simple trick!

Achieve all of your new year resolutions with this simple trick!

Never struggle with consistency again.

Every year, I used to feel excited for the new year. It gave me opportunity to set new goals.

New year, new me. I had so many plans to build so many new habits.

  • From this year I am going to go the gym everyday.

  • I am going to read 20 books this year.

  • I am going to meditate everyday this year.

The goals and dreams were endless. Well it’s new beginning so I had the right to have so many new dreams.

But 2-3 weeks down the year, I was back to my old habits. I was skinny AF. I didn’t finish a single book. I meditated occasionally ( I used to open my eyes and check time). This continued for years. I was improving but not enough.

Do you face the same problems in your life? Is this problem of not able to achieve your goals not helping you grow? Does this trap you in a cycle?

The thing you are missing is Consistency.

I will share how I overcame my consistency problem and how can I now add any habit to my life very easily.

The only way you get better is by being consistent at it. Be it health, money, knowledge, relationships or happiness. Look at the best artists, speakers, singers or any professional, or just look at you. If you have a job or business, you likely studied for it in school or took courses to gain knowledge. Over time, you became better.

Most people lack consistency, which is the main problem here. I lacked consistency too until I heard about the Rule of 100 hours.

So what is Rule of 100 hours?

If you spend 100 hours in a year, which is 17 minutes per day on any skill. You will be better than 95% people of the world putting you in top 5% of the world in that specific skill or discipline.

Why only 17 minutes?

17 minutes is a small amount of time. Everyone have 17 minutes, whether you work full time, are a parent, or whatever you do. Over a year, you don’t just see the results of consistency. You also see the benefits of Compound Interest.

Compound interest is the eighth wonder of the world. He who understands it, earns it; he who doesn't, pays it.

Albert Einstein

We are motivated when we start anything new. We put a lot of effort. But over time, we lose interest and stop doing it. This happens because we don’t see results or we lack discipline so we never wait till the time of results.

Anything that lasts, grows slow. A tree with a faster growth rate is more susceptible to diseases and other problems. The slower a tree grows like in a forest under it’s mothers canopy. The denser it’s trunk is, and the longer it lives.

How to install it in your life?

  1. Choose the skill.

  2. Find the resources that help you grow, it can be mentors, books whatever. You know what works for you.

  3. Pick any time of the day you want to give this to life. I recommend early in your day so you don’t procrastinate. If you think your partner or kids will disturb you, just wake before them. You have choice.

If you really want to grow this year, choose 3 skills, why 3?

  1. If you feel bored learning or doing one skill, you can hop on to the other one.

  2. Skill-stacking is one of the most important things. It's what makes you special and unique.

    Why is Joe Rogan so big? Skill-stacking. What are the 3 skills he has mastered? Comedy, Podcasting, UFC commentary. He is a comedian, comedians are the best storytellers. He has great communication skills as a commentator. He is quite a curious person as an interviewer. This combination gives him content for all 3 things. He brings fighters and fellow comedians as guests. He learns from them and improves his skillset.

Once you start to incorporate this in your daily life, you will be unstoppable. You can add habits at your will. Once you can add any good habit in your life at will, you have a super power.