5 books that deeply affected me in 2023

and I will re-read in 2024.

Books are the bridges that connect us to wisdom of the past and the possibility of the future.

I used to struggle to read books. Then, I read a book called Atomic Habits by James Clear.

It completely changed my life. I developed a habit of reading.

Last year I read over 30 books, and I have so many more that I want to read this year. In this letter I want to share you the 5 books from last year that deeply affected me.

  1. Same As Ever - A guide to what never changes - Morgan Housel

    • Technologies evolve over time. Societies and culture evolve over time. But there are some things that never change. This books goes over the things that never change like human behavior (greed, envy, love).

    • One of my favorite section from the book is about the balance between Pessimism and Optimism. We see Pessimism and Optimism as opposites but the beauty of life is in the balance.

      Plan like a pessimist and dream like an optimist.

  2. The Art of Thinking Clearly - Rolf Dobelli

    • I love books which are easy to read. This book has 99 chapters, each one will take you on average 3-5 minutes to read.

    • This book gives us so much wisdom about different kinds of biases and paradoxes in the society.

    • Why do we do certain things? Why do we have certain beliefs, what stories have been guiding us as individuals and as a collective?

    • This book will open your perspective to new virtues which will armor you with clear thinking.

  3. The Pathless Path- Paul Millerd

    • If you have a deep desire to work on things that matter to you and bring forth what is inside you.

    • If you are someone who doesn’t like to follow the path of society and want to create your own path. This book is for you.

    • Pathless Path is an embrace of uncertainty and discomfort . It’s not an easy path but it’s one with a lot of fulfillment.

  4. The Art of Impossible - Steven Cotler

    • How to achieve the impossible, people who have achieved it, how did they do it? What does an individual need to do to achieve the impossible. impossible vs Impossible.

    • This powerful book talks about creativity, infinite games, passion, motivation, grit, and much more.

    • What drives motivation? Are they extrinsic factors like money, fame, sex or intrinsic factors like Creativity, passion, purpose or mastery.

    • This book is a must read if you are a creative.

  5. What are you doing with your life? J. Krishnamurthy

    • I cannot finish this list without mentioning a book from Krishnamurthy. He never wrote a book, but what we have is collection of books compiled by his public talks and teachings. I do wish he wrote a book, though.

    • Krishnamurthy is non-guru. He rejects the titles. I consider him the pioneer of thought, awareness, philosophy and spirituality of the modern age.

    • If you often have questions that you don't find answers for, read this book called "What Are You Doing with Your Life?" I recommend reading him or listening him a few times.

    • His words are nuanced. His unique perspective on life and everything around it will gently guide you to view things with heightened awareness and a deeper understanding.

I hope you find this list useful. If you want more book recommendations, feel free to email me. I would be happy to help.

Sending you love.

-Sunny